

## NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF PUBLIC UTILITIES

120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, A1A 5B2

E-mail: TraceyPennell@nlh.nl.ca

2016-12-19

Ms. Tracey Pennell Senior Counsel Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro P.O. Box 12400 St. John's, NL A1B 4K7

Dear Ms. Pennell:

Re: Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro - 2016 Cost Deferral Application - Request for **Information PUB-NLH-001** 

Enclosed is Request for Information (RFI) PUB-NLH-001 in relation to above-noted matter. Response to this RFI must be filed before 4:00 p.m. today December 19, 2016.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Board's Legal Counsel, Ms. Jacqui Glynn, by email, jglynn@pub.nl.ca or telephone (709) 726-6781.

Yours truly.

Chervl Blundon **Board Secretary** 

cpi Enclosure

Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro

Mr. Geoff Young, Email: gyoung@nlh.nl.ca

NLH Regulatory, E-mail: NLHRegulatory@nlh.nl.ca

Newfoundland Power Inc.

Mr. Gerard Hayes, E-mail: ghayes@newfoundlandpower.com

Mr. Liam O'Brien, E-mail: lobrien@curtisdawe.com

NP Regulatory, E-mail: regulatory@newfoundlandpower.com

Industrial Customer Group

Mr. Paul Coxworthy, E-mail: pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com

Mr. Dean Porter, E-mail: dporter@poolealthouse.ca

Tack Resources Limited

Mr. Larry Bartlett, E-mail: Iarry.bartlett@teck.com

Consumer Advocate

Mr. Dennis Browne, Q.C., E-mail: dbrowne@bfma-law.com

Mr. Stephen Fitzgerald, E-mail: sfitzgerald@bfma-law.com

Ms. Sarah Fitzgerald, E-mail: sarahfitzgerald@ofma-law.com

Ms. Bernice Bailey, E-mail; bbailey@bfma-law.com

Innu Nation

Mr. Senwung Luk, E-mail: sluk@oktlaw.com

Ms. Nancy Kleer, E-mail: nkleer@oktlaw.com

Vale Newfoundland and Labrador Limited

Mr. Thomas O'Reilly, Q.C., E-mail: toreilly@coxandpalmer.com Mr. Denis Fleming, E-mail: dfleming@coxandpalmer.com

Mr. Jason Callan, E-mail; jason.callan@yale.com

Nunatsiavut Government

Ms. Genevieve Dawson, E-mail: gdawson@bensonbuffett.com

Mr. Tom Sheldon, E-mail: tom\_sheldon@nunatsiayut.com

Ms. Christina Goldhar, E-mail; christina goldhar@nunatsiavut.com Mr. Christopher Henderson, E-mail: chenderson@lumosenergy.com

Towns of Labrador City, Wabush, Happy Valley-Goose Bay

and North West River

Miller & Hearn, E-mail; miller&hearn@crrstv.net

Ms. Melanie Dawe, E-mail: mdawe@bfma-law.com

Yvonne Jones MP, Labrador

E-mail: Yvonne.Jones.A1@parl.gc.ca; Yvonne.Jones.C1@parl.gc.ca

Ţ	IN THE MATTER OF
2	the Electrical Power Control Act, 1994,
3	SNL 1994, Chapter E-5.1 (the " <i>EPCA</i> ")
4	and the Public Utilities Act, RSNL 1990,
5	Chapter P-47 (the "Act"), as amended, and
6	regulations thereunder; and
7	-
8	IN THE MATTER OF an amended general rate
9	application filed by Newfoundland and Labrador
10	Hydro on November 10, 2014; and
11	
12	IN THE MATTER OF an application filed by
[3	Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro for approval of
4	a cost deferral account for 2016.

## PUBLIC UTILITIES BOARD REQUEST FOR INFORMATION

PUB-NLH-001

Issued: December 19, 2016

1	PUB-NLH-001	On page 3 of the Application Hydro states that the increased net loss for 2016
2		of \$14.9 million reflects the recognition of certain items outlined in the
3		Board's 2013 GRA Order which are required to be recorded in 2016. Please
4		provide specific details of the items recorded including the amounts and basis
5		of calculation. In your response please provide details regarding any
6		reductions in the 2014 and 2015 cost deferral accounts.

**DATED** at St. John's, Newfoundland this 19th day of December, 2016.

## **BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF PUBLIC UTILITIES**

Per flundon
Cheryl Blundon
Board Secretary